SpecPDM unterstützt die Bestrebungen der Hilcona AG, stets innovative neue Produkte in kürzeren Entwicklungszeiten und kostengerecht auf den Markt zu bringen.

SpecPDM unterstützt die Bestrebungen der Hilcona AG, stets innovative neue Produkte in kürzeren Entwicklungszeiten und kostengerecht auf den Markt zu bringen.2019-05-08T12:12:30+02:00

Project Description

Kunde

Länder

LI, CH, DE

Produkt

Mitarbeiter

> 1.000

Die SpecPDM Applikationsplattform unterstützt die Bestrebungen der Hilcona AG, stets innovative neue Produkte im Bereich der Frische- und Tiefkühl-Convenience kostengerecht auf den Markt zu bringen. SpecPage bietet mit der modernen Produktentwicklungslösung SpecPDM Hand, um im Zukunfts- und Wachstumsmarkt Convenience exibel und kreativ zu sein. Ganz im Sinne der Monomarken-Strategie von Hilcona – «Für Besseresser».

Als Toni Hilti 1935 in Schaan die ersten Konserven produzierte, galt dies als extrem fortschrittlich. Im Rezeptarchiv der Liechtensteiner Firma fanden sich kürzlich Rezepturen aus dem Jahr 1945, für Bohnen oder Rösti. Diese Produktionsrezepte sind von Hand geschrieben und durchgerechnet. «Heute sind dies schon beinahe kostbare Reliquien aus der Firmenengeschichte», führt Markus Weiskopf, Kommunikationsberater der Hilcona AG, aus. Die innert kürzester Zeit grundlegend veränderten gesellschaftlichen Lebensumstände stellen Begriffe wie Vielfalt, Innovation und Schnelligkeit bei der Mahlzeitenzubereitung in den Mittelpunkt. Convenience Food erobert seit geraumer Zeit die europäischen Küchen. Gerade hier setzt Hilcona mit neuen Trends ein. «Lieber gut essen, als lange kochen», lautet ein zentrales Motto, dennoch will der «Besseresser» dabei nicht auf Qualität und Genuss verzichten.

Hohe Ansprüche an Frische und Geschmack machen die Hilcona-Qualität aus. Neben der kompetenten Qualitätssicherung, um innovative Produkteneuheiten schnell nach den Anforderungen des Marktes zu entwickeln, ist die Flexibilität und das ganzheitliche Erfassen in der Kalkulation immer mehr gefordert. Diese Forderung überträgt sich auf die angewandte Software. Das anfänglich von Hilcona seit Anfang der 90er Jahre genutzte System war den gestiegenen und immer komplexer werdenden Anforderungen längst nicht mehr gewachsen. Teilmodule arbeiteten nur noch bedingt korrekt oder funktionierten gar nicht mehr. «Als wir feststellten, dass gar ganze Rezepte verschwanden, stand eine rasche Lösung dringend an», führt Pius Calzaferri, Entwickler Technologie, aus.

Kompetente Qualität und optimale Kostenkalkulation

Das Unternehmen suchte ein Produkt mit moderner Umgebung, das gleichzeitig die genaue Abbildung des Entwicklungsprozesses gewährleistete. SpecPDM bietet der Hilcona AG genau das Gesuchte. Die Lösung von SpecPage bietet ein perfektes Tool für den Entwickler, der die Verantwortung von der Vielfalt der Rezepturen bis hin zur Kostenkalkulation trägt. Mehr Kostentransparenz durch professionelle Verwaltung der Arbeitspläne, Produktions- und Materialkosten sowie der Möglichkeit zusätzliche Funktionen wie Deklarationen und Spezifikationen zu erstellen, sprachen des weiteren für die Lösung von SpecPage. «Die meisten unserer Wünsche und Vorstellungen wurden von SpecPDM perfekt gewährleistet», bringt es Calzaferri auf den Punkt.

Hilcona – «Besseresser»-Produkte

«Mit dem Kalkulations-Modul von SpecPDM erstellen wir schnell und einfach Vorkalkulationen als Basis für Offerten. Daher ist ein stabiles und leistungsfähiges Produktentwicklungssystem für uns einer der entscheidenden Erfolgsfaktoren für innovative Produkte.»

Erfolgsstory herunterladen
Peter Schmidheiny, Leiter Entwicklung, Hilcona AG

Kürzere Entwicklungszeiten für innovative Produkte

Schon kurz nach der Einführung von SpecPDM stellten sich die ersten positiven Effekte ein. Gerade im Bereich der Datensicherheit entspannte sich die Situation rasch. Mit SpecPDM konnten alle Rezepte, Rohmaterialien inkl. Inhaltsstoffe, Deklarationen und Spezifikationen auf einer zentralen Datenbank erfasst und schnell neue Varianten nach Kundenwunsch entwickelt werden. Gleichzeitig ist auf den einzelnen Rezept-Varianten eine eigenständige Kalkulation möglich, und mit der integrierten Protokollführung ist die Rückverfolgbarkeit stets gewährleistet.

Perfektionierung strebt Hilcona gemeinsam mit den Fachleuten von SpecPage auch bei den Spezifikationen an. Neben den Spezifikationen für Fertigprodukte und Handelswaren sind dies die Import/Export-spezifischen Zollrezepturen. «Diese sind komplett anders aufgeschlüsselt als sogenannt ’normale’. Nur der Zoll kann sie interpretieren, nicht mal ich kann diese Rezepturen lesen», führt ein lachender Pius Calzaferri aus. SpecPDM liefert dem Sachbearbeiter eine komplette Auflistung aller benötigten Dokumente, seien dies Veterinärzeugnisse oder ähnliches, damit das Produkt in den Export gehen kann. Wiederum für die Kalkulation komfortabel ist die Integration der Rückerstattungen. SpecPDM hat diese direkt in den Berechnungen integriert und lässt sie in die Kalkulation einfließen. «Das ist eine ungemeine Entlastung.»

Flexibilität für spezifische Kundenwünsche

Gerade auf Kundenseite stellt Hilcona fest, dass seit kurzem immer mehr Informationen zum Produkt gewünscht werden. Die Software SpecPDM bietet mit den direkten Abfragen eine individuelle Extrahierung nach Kundenwünschen, die in Rapporten in MS-Word oder Excel-Listen extern weiterverarbeitet werden können. Diese große Flexibilität von SpecPDM im Spezifikationsbereich ist absolut innovativ. «Wollten wir die Gesamtheit der Möglichkeiten der Spezifikationen ohne SpecPDM anbieten, müssten wir einiges mehr an Mitarbeitern einstellen, um diese ganzen Prozesse gewährleisten zu können.» Diese Arbeitsplätze kann Hilcona nun in anderen Bereichen zur Verfügung stellen und somit die Personalinvestitionen sinnvoll nutzen.

«Die Lebensmittelrechtsseite ist heute so gut angepasst, dass wir für alle Kundenbedürfnisse flexibel sind und das ist eine der größten Stärken von SpecPDM. Davon wiederum profitiert Hilcona in hohem Masse», präzisiert eine weitere starke Seite der Lösung von SpecPage.

Der Einsatz von SpecPDM im Unternehmen Hil cona ist zwar in hohem Masse exzensiv, aber noch bei Weitem nicht an den Grenzen angelangt.» Noch nutzt Hilcona nicht alle angebotenen Tools. Eines der ungenutzten ist die Dokumentation der Entwicklungsarbeit. «Momentan wird noch alles auf Papier gehandelt, abgelegt in Ordnern und nur mit großem Aufwand wieder gefunden», erklärt Calzaferri den Ist-Zustand. SpecPDM bietet auch hier ein hervorragendes Modul, das von Hilcona vermehrt genutzt und auf die Bedürfnisse angepasst werden möchte.

Hilcona – «Besseresser»-Produkte

«Die Komponenten der Zollrezepturen und der entsprechenden Rückerstattungen die SpecPDM bietet, erleichtert uns im Import/ExportGeschäft vieles. Der Einbezug in die Kalkulation ist ein grosser Schritt, der uns mehr Sicherheit in diesem Bereich gibt.»

Erfolgsstory herunterladen
Pius Calzaferri, Entwickler Technologie, Hilcona AG

Weitere Kundenerfolgsstories

Bleiben Sie in Kontakt

Kontaktieren Sie uns für mehr Informationen zu unseren Produkten und Services.

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Futter fürs Hirn E-Book

Lernen Sie, wie Sie die Grundlagen für Veränderungen und Wachstum schaffen!

Jetzt downloaden
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Please see our privacy policy for further information. Settings Ok

PDM enables Hilcona to introduce new innovative products into the market faster and at lower cost.

PDM enables Hilcona to introduce new innovative products into the market faster and at lower cost.2019-07-11T10:45:22+02:00

Project Description

Customer

Hilcona Logo

Countries

LI, CH, DE

Product

Employees

> 1.000

The SpecPDM applications platform supports the efforts of Hilcona AG in continuously bringing out new products in the field of fresh and deep frozen products in the convenience foods market. With the modern product development solution SpecPDM, SpecPage provides support in being flexible and creative in the future-oriented growth market of convenience foods. In tune with the mono-brand strategy of Hilcona – «for bettereater».

When Toni Hilti produced the first tinned foods in Schaan in 1935, it was found to be a highly progressive step. In the recipe archive of the Liechtenstein-based company, they recently found recipes from the year 1945 for beans and roesti. These production recipes were written by hand and the respective calculations were also done manually. «Today they are almost valuable relics of the company‘s history,» says Markus Weiskopf, Communications consultant at Hilcona AG. The social circumstances that have led to rapid changes in the living conditions have placed concepts such as diversity, innovation and speed in preparing the meals to the core of all activities. Since quite some time, convenience food has captured the European kitchens. It is just here that Hilcona has been setting trends. «Eat well rather than cook longer» seems to be the central motto; despite that, the bettereater do no want to compromise on quality and taste.

Hilcona’s quality is marked by high levels of freshness and taste. Apart from competent quality assurance to develop new products quickly according to the changing requirements of the market, the industry also demands flexibility and inclusion of all possible costs into the costing process. This demand is then to be met by the software that is used. The system that Hilcona had been using since the beginning of the nineties was not in a position to meet the increased requirements that were becoming more and more complex. Sub-modules were not working correctly or not at all. «When we found out that entire recipes were vanishing, it was absolutely essential to quickly find a new solution,» says Pius Calzaferri, technology developer.

Competent quality and optimal costing
The search was on for a product with a modern environment that also ensured exact mapping of the development process. SpecPDM offered Hilcona AG just what it was looking for. The solution of SpecPage offered the developer a perfect tool for bearing the responsibility of managing the large variety of recipes to costing. An increased level of cost transparency due to professional management of work plans, production and material costs as well as the option of additional functions such as creating declarations and specifications argued for SpecPDM. «Most of our desires and expectations were perfectly met by SpecPDM,» says Calzaferri to the point.

Customers Hilcona

Hilcona – Bettereater products

«If we had to offer the entire range of options for specifications without SpecPDM, we would definitely have to employ a few more persons to ensure that all processes are working.»

Download Story
Peter Schmidheiny, Head of Development, Hilcona AG

Shorter development times for innovative products
The initial positive effects were seen almost immediately after the implementation of SpecPDM. The situation in the area of data security eased significantly. SpecPDM could be used to enter data of all recipes, raw materials incl. ingredients, declarations and specifications in a central database and new variants could easily be developed according to customer enquiries. Individual costing could also be done for the specific recipe variant and the integrated maintenance of logs ensured back-tracking.

Along with experts from SpecPage, Hilcona is striving towards perfection even in the case of specifications. Apart from the specifications for finished products and trade goods, there are also customs recipes required for import/export facilities. «The coding of these recipes is totally different from that of ‘normal’ recipes – only the customs officials can interpret them – not even I can read these recipes,» says Pius Calzaferri with a laugh. SpecPDM provides the concerned clerk with a complete listing of all the required documents – be it veterinary reports or something alike that the product can be exported. Another import aspect for costing is the integrated function of refunds. SpecPDM has directly integrated this into the calculations and has introduced it into the costing. «This is a very big relief.»

High flexibility for specific customer requests
Just on the customer side, Hilcona found that there is an increasing demand for product information. With the help of direct queries, SpecPDM software offers options for individually extracting information according to customer enquiries; this information can then be exported to MS-Word or Excel in the form of reports and can thus be processed externally. This high level of flexibility in SpecPDM in the specifications area is absolutely innovative. «If we had to offer the entire range of options for specifications without SpecPDM, we would definitely have to employ a few more persons to ensure that all processes are working,» says Calzaferri. Hilcona can now use these manpower resources in other divisions and thus make full use of its investment in human resources.

«The legal side of the food market is so well-tuned that we are flexible to meet all customer enquiries and that is one of the biggest strengths of SpecPDM. This again helps Hilcona to profit to a large extent,» he says to point out another strong side of SpecPage’s software.

«Employing SpecPDM in Hilcona is highly extensive but still has not reached the limits.» Hilcona does not use all the tools that have been offered. One of the unused features is the documentation of the development work. «Currently everything is still being done on paper, stored in folders and found back with a large amount of effort,» Calzaferri elaborates on the current situation. Even here, SpecPDM has an excellent module to offer that is waiting to be put to use by Hilcona and customized to their needs.

Customers Hilcona

Hilcona – Bettereater products

«The components of the customs recipes and the respective refunds offered by SpecPDM are a ma­jor relief to us in the import/export business. Its inclusion in the costing is a big leap forward that gives us a greater feeling of security in this area.»

Download Story
Pius Calzaferri, Technology Developer, Hilcona AG

Keep in touch with SpecPage

Contact us to get more information about our products and services.

Contact Us

Food for Thought E-Book

Learn how to build a foundation that supports change and spurs growth!

Download now
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Please see our privacy policy for further information. Ok